WED, OCTOBER 21, 2020
The World Food Programme (WFP) surprisingly won the Nobel Peace Prize 2020
The World Food Programme (WFP) surprisingly won the Nobel Peace Prize 2020
  • weekly, walkintoKorea
  • 승인 2020.10.10 11:00
  • 댓글 0
이 기사를 공유합니다

Source: The Nobel Prize

The Norwegian Nobel Prize Committee, on October 9th, announced the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize awarded to the World Food Program (WFP).

The Nobel Peace Prize honors the individuals or organizations with the greatest contributions to world peace of the year. With many changes in the world this year, the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize is also getting more attention and meaning.

The Nobel Peace Prize Medal (Cre: The Nobel Prize)

According to the Norwegian Nobel Prize Committee, the World Food Programme (WFP) is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize 2020  for "its efforts to combat hunger, for its contribution to bettering conditions for peace in conflict-affected areas, and for acting as a driving force in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict".

The World Food Programme is the world’s largest humanitarian organization founded in 1961 addressing hunger and promoting food security. World Food Program (WFP) efforts not only help reduce world poverty, especially in Africa, but also contribute to global stability and security. In 2019, it helps close to 100 million people in about 88 countries who are victims of acute food insecurity and hunger. 

Grain silos— which are subsidized by WFP— are both air and watertight, helping guard against insects, rodents, mold, and moisture (Photo: WFP/Hugh Rutherford)

David Beasley who is the executive director of WFP reacted with joy to the news of his organization's Nobel win. "It's the first time in my life I've actually been speechless, I really can't believe it," he told CNN's Connect the World from Niger. (Cre: CNN)

David Beasley, the Executive Director for WFP (Photo:

By honoring the World Food Programme with the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize, the Norwegian Nobel Committee sends a message to governments around the world calling for no reduction in financial contributions to international humanitarian organizations.

The prize of 10 million Swedish crowns (approximately $1.1 million USD) will be awarded in Oslo, Norway's capital on December 10th, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel's death.